The Chalk Loft
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Our Ministry Policy

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
jgille1072

Our Ministry Policy Empty
PostSubject: Our Ministry Policy   Our Ministry Policy Icon_minitimeSat Jan 30, 2010 1:28 pm

We appreciate opening this forum for discussion. My husband and I have been serving as Children's Evangelists for over 12 years. We have had numerous discussions about the fee or free aspects of our events. For us after many years of prayerful conversations, we have felt led to be a "faith-based" ministry. My husband is bi-vocational and I have given up my job as an Administrative Director of a Government office to serve as a full-time Chalk Artist. When we started out we served in small churches that were unable to afford any kind of ministry for a special event. We accepted love offerings, but there were times that we returned them to the church for their children's ministries, because they were in such dire need. Our programs are to help churches and organizations that are struggling to reach kids with any kind of outreach.

We have great friends in the ministry that choose to charge a fee. They are very comfortable in asking for a fee, in their words, they feel if they don't ask a fee, that people will think that there ministry is "Cheap" or a sub-par program. We have seen both sides.

Our ministry has been built from the donations of loving friends, churches and out of our own funds to try to present the Gospel in such a way that our programs are neither sub-par or cheap looking. When we have had a need the Lord has graciously provided. It keeps us humble. It has helped us to depend upon the Lord for all things. Our vehicle, our board and supplies, our outreach materials, etc. We have learned lessons by "walking by faith". For us it has been a life lesson, "free we've been given, freely we give".